Euroadventure 2016! Day 17

< previous

On our last full day in England we had a nice relaxing morning – woke up on our own times and had self-catered breakfast. I enjoyed watching the birds in my aunt and uncle’s back yard – they had some feeders, and bird books so I figured out some of the thing I saw – wood-pigeon, collared dove, jay. I could hear the sound of mowing from a big field behind their fence.

After everyone was up and fed my aunt took us off to Rome! Well, Verulamiam, which had been the third largest Roman settlement in Britain back in the day, and now is the subject of a very nice museum. Much of the way there was along lovely country lanes, which seemed like they might be nice for cycling, except for the being on the wrong side of the road thing, and that they did not seem to have been designed with the width of two modern cars in mind, let alone two cars plus a bicycle. I had the thought more than once of, “Really?! This is two-way?!” and “Glad I’m not driving…”

I would have thought that visiting on a weekday would be nice and quiet, but oh right, a school group. HAVE YOU PEOPLE NEVER HEARD OF INSIDE VOICES???? My appreciation for not squashing youthful exuberance was severely tested by the aural assault. Thank FSM for earplugs.

We walked past the outdoor ruins, and up to St. Albans, where we checked out the cathedral and had lunch.

From there, my aunt had another “local place to visit” on the itinerary – the de Havilland Aircraft Museum – who knew? It was a bit of an adventure getting there, with all the roundabouts and whatnot, again I was glad I wasn’t driving. When we finally got close it seemed like we were turning down someone’s driveway and we did go by a couple of houses, but at the end of the lane was the museum!

Back at the house there was some Top Gear on the telly for WCN, and Wimbledon was still going on, as was the football (soccer) tournament. I finally had some clotted cream (with berries, was it? I didn’t find it as life changing as others have claimed it to be), and a stout float, which of course one doesn’t have to be in England to do, but was a nice way to finish the day.

June 30, 2016

next >

This entry was posted in history, museums, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Euroadventure 2016! Day 17

  1. Oooooh I’m very jealous of those fish and chips!!! xx

  2. Pingback: Euroadventure 2016! Day 16 | 2m2t

  3. Pingback: Euroadventure 2016! Day 18 | 2m2t

Leave a Reply

