IONTW – January 29, 2017

A wonderful story about the power of letters – as communication, for telling your story and making a connection – just a small part of the last administration, but the details say a great deal, and all add up to a larger whole.

Over the last – oh, maybe a year already? – I’ve been making time to read again, finally getting to some of the books that I own and have stacked in the To Read piles, and then availing myself to selections from the local library. WHICH! What an amazing thing – to hear about a book, go to the Library’s website, see that they have it, and be able to request it, and it be there for me to pick up. I mean, really. I’ve also been enjoying Books on Tape – I know, dating myself, they aren’t, and haven’t been on tape for a long time now – erm, Audio Books, particularly for long drives they’re super awesome. Of the ones I’ve listened to so far, I’ve preferred non-fiction to fiction, as the fiction readers seem compelled to do different voices in the dialog, which doesn’t always work for me. I’ve particularly enjoyed
My Life on the Road, by Gloria Steinem; The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, by Rebecca Skloot; and The Boys in the Boat, by Daniel James Brown.

And, other things to listen to – the Nocturne podcast did a couple of episodes on randonnuering – Proof of Passage and The Kindness of Others.

Nice kitteh

Tom Killion’s Woodcut Prints of the High Sierra will be at Davis Art Center February 1-11, 2017. The show will close with an event celebrating climbing and naming the new “Mt. Thoreau” above Paiute Pass in the Eastern Sierra.

Codex Book Fair opens next Sunday, February 5, 2017 at the Craneway Pavilion in Richmond, CA.

How to be an American war bride.

last, but not least – LEGO BRIDGE!!!

This entry was posted in art, books, cycling, history, libraries, reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

