Write_Off

I didn’t do so well with the letter a day thing, but, by odd coincidence, I received a packet of letters from my former self. One of my uncles had gone through papers to clean out at my grandma’s, and was returning things. WCN was a little disappointed that mine were rather dry – they were mostly from high school and later – apparently my sister had penned a very fanciful and entertaining story as a young child. Or maybe it was just the idea of his mom as a kid that amused him. Anyway, I never had it in mind that I’d see any of those again when I wrote them. Not sure it would have made a difference if I did. And who knows why she kept them, perhaps it was just inertia, but for a moment it gave me a sense of connection – to her and to the past.

This entry was posted in family, lattice of coincidence, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

