something I think I’d like to know, #263

do They still print hard copy encyclopedias?

Even back in the 50s, the Encyclopedia Britannica was discussing the difficulties and dilemmas of keeping the work up-to-date. This set came with my house – one of the things left, in the garage – at one point I was going to make a list of all of them, but it hasn’t happened yet so I should probably let it, and the stuff, go. Anyway, they are well made, nice book objects, but since I didn’t feel any particular attachment to them I didn’t have any qualms about starting to dismantle and print on them. After all, there will always be more encyclopedias, right? Then I started to wonder. Also had the thought that I should have been more systematic about this – think of what I’d learn if I started at the beginning and read it all as I used it. Ha, well there’s the whole retention and recollection part of it. And the time thing. Maybe next life.

This entry was posted in books, I'd like to know and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

