Twirl and Dip

Another – this one dangerous – thing in the SFCB ‘hood – Twirl and Dip! Which, for some reason – alphabetical order? – I want to say Dip and Twirl, either way it’s a great name for a soft serve place, I like the dance overtones. It’s tucked away in a courtyard corner behind a Philz coffee, if not for the sandwich board on the sidewalk I would have gone right by. Even, once found, rather nondescript – not, of course, that descriptness has any particular correlation with tastiness.

Which yes, soft serve, so it’s the machines. Not quite the same as an ice cream parlor, although they do have a small case with a selection of Mitchell’s, if you’re actually hankering for hard ice cream. And yes, this is most definitely NOT Fosters Freeze – not that there’s anything wrong with that! Although I did not actually have the direct comparison vanilla with chocolate dip – oh chance for reprise visit – but from what I did have I feel pretty safe saying that. Might even bet something.

What did I have, you might be wondering… I was feeling a bit daring and adventurous, and, being the only customer in the shop at the time, didn’t feel like I’d be holding anyone up so I ordered (despite almost automatic disqualification based on name) the Pompom Island specialty cone – vanilla bean soft serve, lemon syrup, toasted coconut, candied ginger, whipped cream on a handmade sugar cone. Oh my mouth is watering writing that down and thinking about it. Super yummy tasty vanilla-y soft serve – which I’m sure would be more than enough on its own, but the toppings combination was just perfect. Straight awesomeness, and in a cone to boot. A little spendy, but worth the splurge since I’m not doing it every night, and hey, for dinner in the City that’s actually pretty reasonable!

This entry was posted in you Scream and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

