chore-tle

Part of being a member of the printing co-op is helping out with the upkeep of the place – which, in an ideal world perhaps we’d all just pitch in and it would all be clean and tidy or organized all of the time – not that I don’t have my own moments of ‘I’ll deal with that, uh, tomorrow, yeah…’ – but anyway, as a bit of reminder I suppose, Eric started a chore chart, and we were to sign up on a monthly basis. As you can imagine, there were sometimes the forgettings to sign up, and sometimes well maybe not cherry picking, but preferring to do certain chores and/or not do others. Enter the Chore Wheel! (Which is all not necessarily necessary back story to what really prompted this post.)

Since I’d seen one at a friend’s shared living space situation in college, it seemed pretty straightforward and self-explanatory to me. But, as is sometimes the case, maybe not so much. Chores on one level, names on another. Line up. Rotate the next month. Takes care of the forgetting to sign up thing, and gets everyone through every chore. Done.

(not to scale) example simplified non-functional chore wheel for those who need a visual (yes you could put the chores on the circle and the names on the outside, and use different shapes, and have colors, and ... )

(not to scale) example simplified non-functional chore wheel for those who need a visual (yes you could put the chores on the circle and the names on the outside, and use different shapes, and have colors, and … )

Well it did take me a while to actually make it. Partly the perfectionist procrastination and feeling like it had to be all fancy and maybe even letterpress printed (since, after all, it is for the shop) or calligraphied or SOMETHING and then materials and then tools oh I did find my proto-tractor (yes I know, protractor. It’s not so funny when you have to explain. whatever.) After all that it was sorta half-assed and I don’t think the divisions are quite even so it may not line up nicely all the way around but I think we can figure it out. Functional, but I digress.

So here we are finally getting to the point (or what will have to pass for one) of the post (and no, I don’t really wonder why I never get through all the things on my to-do list) Anyway! To make a long story even longer – when I brought up the idea and said I’d make the darn thing, there’d been comments about an explanation and training at the next co-Op meeting. Which I thought was joking. What’s there to explain? Start in on spot, next month turn the wheel.

but..
what direction?
how many spaces?

well
one space, clockwise. How else would you do it? It’s a Chore Wheel, for crissakes, let’s keep it simple.

but…
yeah OK. who says that’s The Way? It could go the other direction, and/or a different number of spaces. And do something different every month and and and … why not? we have options!

so on the one hand, one of those little smack upside the head tweak of the nose reminder to not get too set in what I’m thinking – there’s all sorts of other ways of thinking and doing out there – BUT – it’s still just a frickin’ chore wheel, how much do I want to think about it? or is it the thinking about those little things the same as the big things or leads to the big things or or or

what do you think?

(yes, I’m listening while I dust)

This entry was posted in what the. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to chore-tle

  1. judigoldberg says:

    we can’t help it, it’s part of the fun, and beyond that, yer right, it’s a damn chore wheel, get over ourselves. it’sall troo.

Leave a Reply

