Codex 2013

Another one that’s been in the bin for a while, now finally getting pushed out by the fact it’s going to happen again. In some ways it doesn’t seem like it’s been two years already, but, yup, biennial. That’s one of the meanings. Every two years.

DSCN3711

Anyway, the Codex Book Fair was one of those totally amazing and overwhelming experiences that I was almost at a loss for words about. I was pretty saturated when I left the event, so it seemed like perhaps a bit of time to absorb and reflect on it all might help then there was that combination of how to write about it so that I Get It RIGHT and convey how awesome it was, I’m not worthy, words are inadequate, etc. etc. etc. and you know how that goes. going going gone. Here I am two years later.

DSCN3712 DSCN3714

I’d never been before, 2013 was the fourth one, but I think the first time being at the Craneway Pavilion in Richmond. The location itself was fantastic – on the waterfront, and it was a beautiful sunny day. The building is a former Ford Assembly Plant that’s been revamped into an event center – really neat space and historical to boot.

Accordion Book!

Accordion Book!

There were rows and rows of tables with so many books and book related things to look at. Exhibitors included individual artists, galleries and agents, vendors of book arts supplies, schools with book arts programs and probably some other things that I’m forgetting, but I think you get the picture. I was able to go on one of the weekdays, so it was less crowded, which was nice. I mostly just looked at things, but did talk with some of the artists as well.

DSCN3718

Aaa! My initials! I’m still not sure what it’s about, but aaa!

It’s fascinating to see the range of work that comes under the heading of ‘book’ and the variety of creative things people come up with. Super inspiring.

I couldn't resist this poster.

I couldn’t resist this poster.

This entry was posted in art, books, printing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Codex 2013

  1. Pingback: Codex 2015 | 2m2t

Leave a Reply

