where’s my leather?

Leather for what, you ask? (wait, you need to ask?) Apparently it’s the traditional third anniversary gift. For those of you who are more modern it’s crystal or glass. Yesterday actually, a little notification from Word Press. I’ve been with them 3 years. No, there isn’t some big news that I’ve neglected to tell you. And I actually started in March of 2010 with Blogspot, which I don’t think I’ve ever made any anniversary observances for. Well, now that I mention it, I don’t think I’ve done any observances here before either.

So somewhere between WCN turning 13, the whole New Year/Resolutions thing, an artist statement and the whys of doing things, I guess I’m in that space for observancing. Or maybe it’s that leather is involved.

Anyway, somewhere I read that the usual blog lifetime if four years. I think it was on a cycling blog, not sure that I could find it again, but not sure that it matters anyway, since I don’t recall that there were any specifics or sources for that statistic. (How do you know that?) Again, not specified, but I’m guessing it referred to blogs by us regular folks. That is, people who aren’t making a living from it. (Which I still haven’t figured out how people do, but’s that a whole nother thing.)

Which (segue or digression?) most of those people (professional bloggers) seem to have single subject blogs. Targeted audience. I can see the marketing angle. Sometimes I think I should trim to one. I’m not so good at choosing, though. It’s all fun and cool and seems related, in some way.

I’m past four years, (what’s the next cut out point?) but I can see why people stop. It takes time. And there’s only so much time in the day. Sometimes I do wonder why I’m writing about stuff rather than doing stuff.

why? because I’m a writer. and that’s what writers do. they write.

sigh.

and here’s the crazy thing … people read it! I know many of my readers are people I know, and that is one of the main reasons for this, for them, but there are people who I’ve never met, and quite likely never will, in person. You have no idea (ok, you other writer people do) how cool it is to know that someone read something you wrote and it moved them in some way.

so THANK YOU! to everyone who reads and comments on my blog. (Ah yes, as so often happens, as I write the real meaning comes out. I don’t always know where it’s going when I start but sometimes I get to the right point regardless.)

This entry was posted in who knew, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to where’s my leather?

  1. Pingback: you really never know | 2m2t

Leave a Reply

