Museum Day #2

CIMG0657

< previous

It’s been over a year ago now, but my friend Yurika and I were able to coordinate one of our days to take in some art. For this one we went to the de Young Museum in San Francisco. The “new” de Young, that is, as it was given a substantial renovation. I want to say recently, but should probably bite my tongue until I look up when that happened and am aghast at how long it’s actually been. Regardless, new to me. Although, once we were there and looking around, I couldn’t say for sure whether I’d been there before the renovation.

I didn’t have a recollection of how eclectic the collection is. From objects by various native peoples to classic furniture to representative paintings to modern and is that even art?! It’s kinda kooky and disconcerting, but also kinda cool. You don’t get all saturated on any one thing. And if there’s something you don’t particularly care for you can skip it without feeling like you’re missing everything.

Section of large wall size piece by an African artist (I think), made out of cans.

Section of large wall size piece by an African artist (I think), made out of cans.

Even with taking at least a cursory gander at just about everything, it didn’t seem totally overwhelming. There was plenty to see without going in to the special exhibit, which I don’t even remember what it was now. And I probably have some scribbled notes about what particularly cool stuff I did see on some random piece of paper somewhere, that I meant to turn into this post long ago, but who knows where the time, or that paper, has gotten to.

Anyway, the current special exhibition, Girl with the Pearl Earring, is pretty tempting. The paintings, yes, but then there are also some Rembrandt etchings, which I’m almost more interested to see.

The building itself is also a work of art. In addition to the gallery spaces there’s a tower, which I think you can go up in even without paying museum admission. It’s got a fabulous view of San Francisco. It was a great way to end the day, looking out over the City and picking out landmarks.

Pleasant surprise in the tower elevator lobby - a bunch of pieces by Ruth Asawa.

Pleasant surprise in the tower elevator lobby – a bunch of pieces by Ruth Asawa.

This entry was posted in art, museums and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Museum Day #2

  1. Pingback: J.M.W. Turner: Painting Set Free | 2m2t

Leave a Reply

